Struggling with Output and Self-Worth as a Writer

A few thoughts and psychology-backed resources on changing toxic thought patterns for writers

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
7 min readSep 26, 2023
Text by Author

One of the biggest parts of my personal development and therapy journies has been tackling the ugliest beliefs I have about myself. And that’s my identity as a writer.

After a year of therapy, well, I can see where for a lot of us, the journey is more complicated than that. If you’re working to heal from any kind of internal wound, you might have more steps to untangle first than you could ever imagine at the beginning. But I don’t want this to sound deterring—it’s almost liberating to realize that you might be a little different from others. Suddenly it makes sense why things are harder for you and others find them so easy.

There’s a particular sticky spot I’ve found in the flawed avenues of my thinking.

No matter how much I educate myself or how many therapists say it, it’s hard to detangle self-worth from writing.

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.